Hello, I’m Emily…

Hello I’m Emily – Blog Post PDF

… And this is what the Equality and Diversity workshop means to me.

Hello, my name is Emily and I am one of the communications officers for the Equality and Diversity Group. I joined the group after attending the ‘Glass Ceilings’ session at last years Chartered Institute for Archaeologists (CIfA) conference. In fact, that session was the main reason I attended the conference last year.

 

So let me tell you a little something about why I jumped at the chance to be involved in the Equality and Diversity Group. I used to be a commercial archaeologist and I now work as a researcher. During my career, and my life in general, I have felt that I have experienced sexism, and that I have seen discrimination of various types towards both able and less able workers. I also felt that this was unacceptable but that I did not know what to do about it. In the end, my experiences caused stress and ill health; and I had to change the course of my career as a result. However, this lead me to my current amazing job and to join the committee of the Equality and Diversity Group!

 

In short, I wanted to help others, and try to avoid other people experiencing what I did.

 

”I feel very passionately about these issues and have a personal relationship to them.”

 

I think the Equality and Diversity Group workshop at this year’s conference is vital and I am looking forward to it greatly. It will be our first major event as a group and I hope it will open a discussion with CIfA members and the industry as a whole. I know that this discussion is already in action, as I attended some excellent sessions at the Theoretical Archaeology Group (TAG) conference at the end of last year and have seen on Twitter some of the comments on the recent Society for American Archaeology (SAA) conference. I feel that this session, and others at the CIfA conference this year, will start a discussion about bring the heritage industry together as a community, as well as bringing other communities together.

 

As you can see, I feel very passionately about these issues and have a personal relationship to them. I was inspired to join the group by last year’s session and I have to say that the last year has been one of the best, enlightening, and most challenging!, experiences of my life. I’ve loved every minute.

 

I hope that you will join us, both on the day and in our group to share in this experience and discussion.

See you there!

#EqualityinContext #CIfA2016

Leave a Reply

